Hot-dog-filled Journey Through Cactus & Grapefruit Leagues

With Cactus League clubs clustered in the Valley of the Sun and Grapefruit League teams dotting the Florida coasts and center of the state, Spring Training offers one of baseball’s great traditions while bringing fans close to the game and under the sun.

236x132_spring_training_4__ufglpur7Cactus League

Where else can you go and see half of the Major Leagues’ 30 teams play without ever having to drive more than 47 miles, and oftentimes much shorter distances? That would be the Cactus League, where 15 teams prepare for the season in a relatively tight radius surrounding Phoenix in the beautiful Valley of the Sun.

The Cactus League kick off Wednesday, February 26 with three games and concludes Saturday, March 29 with nine games.

Teams, spring training locations, and practice fields follow:

Arizona Diamondbacks (Scottsdale, Salt River Fields)

Chicago Cubs (Mesa, Cubs Park)

Chicago White Sox (Glendale, Camelback Ranch)

Cincinnati Reds (Goodyear, Goodyear Ballpark)

Cleveland Indians ( Goodyear, Goodyear Ballpark)

Colorado Rockies (Scottsdale, Salt River Fields)

Kansas City Royals (Surprise, Surprise Stadium)

Los Angeles Angels (Tempe, Tempe Diablo Stadium)

412953_0_563x261Los Angeles Dodgers (Glendale, Camelback Ranch)

Milwaukee Brewers (Phoenix, Maryvale Park)

Oakland Athletics (Phoenix, Phoenix Municipal Stadium)

San Diego Padres (Peoria, Peoria Sports Complex)

San Francisco Giants (Scottsdale, Scottsdale Stadium)

Seattle Mariners (Peoria, Peoria Sports Complex)

Texas Rangers (Surprise, Surprise Stadium)

Grapefruit League

With 12 teams near the coastlines and three in the center of Florida, the Grapefruit League offers fans plenty of options for a sun-splashed journey that includes deep ties to the game’s history, feature-filled new ballparks, and some of MLB’s best teams biggest stars getting ready for the season.

Many ballparks are within driving distance from each other, allowing you an opportunity to check out other venues and games while following your team wherever they go!

With so much available, RVers can easily take a hot-dog-filled journey that suits their own schedules and preferences.

Teams, spring training locations, and practice fields follow:

oriolesrosdmapBaltimore Orioles (Sarasota, Ed Smith Stadium)

Boston Red Sox (Fort Myers, JetBlue Park at Fenway South)

Detroit Tigers (Lakeland, Joker Marchant Stadium)

Houston Astros (Kissimmee, Osceola County Stadium)

Miami Marlins (Jupiter, Roger Dean Stadium)

Milwaukee Braves (Lake Buena Vista, Champion Stadium)

Minnesota Twins (Fort Myers, Hammond Stadium)

New York Mets (Port St. Lucie, Digital Domain Park)

New York Yankees (Tampa, George M. Steinbrenner Field)

Philadelphia Phillies (Clearwater, Bright House Field)

0000000Pittsburg Pirates (Bradenton, McKechnie Field)

St. Louis Cardinals (Jupiter, Roger Dean Stadium)

Tampa Bay Rays (Port Charlotte, Charlotte Sports Park)

Toronto Blue Jays (Florida Auto Exchange Stadium)

Washington Nationals (Melbourne, Space Coast Stadium)

The Grapefruit League kicks off Tuesday, February 25 with two games and concludes Saturday, March 29 with nine games.

How many Spring Training venues will you hit up this spring?

Please Note: This is Part 2 of a 2-part series on Baseball Spring Training

Part 1: Snowbirds Anticipate Baseball Spring Training 2014

Worth Pondering…

That’s the true harbinger of spring, not crocuses or swallows returning to Capistrano, but the sound of a bat on the ball.
—Bill Veeck (1976)

This entry was posted in RV Lifestyle, Snowbird and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply